Madrid, Spain – Short on Time? Go to the Mercado de San Miguel!

Madrid

These are just some of the delicious culinary highlights from this one Mercado–I could spend a leisurely afternoon/evening just sampling the wonderful variety of tapas. Although Madrid was more the modern city (vs. the charming towns of Sevilla and Cordoba), we greatly enjoyed the food!

Mercado de San Miguel- Culinary super store--Wish they had one of these back home, I'd be hanging out there all the time!
Mercado de San Miguel- Culinary super store–Wish they had one of these back home, I’d be hanging out there all the time!
Creamy crab mixture with lemon zest on top of a silky piece of salmon atop a slice of toast
Creamy crab mixture with lemon zest on top of a silky piece of salmon atop a slice of toast
One the numerous food stalls in the Mercado de San Miguel...MEAT
One the numerous food stalls in the Mercado de San Miguel…MEAT
One of my favorite discoveries on this trip- Razor Clams (I had no idea they looked like this; cylindrical shell tubes, filled with sweet clam meat.)
One of my favorite discoveries on this trip- Razor Clams (I had no idea they looked like this; cylindrical shell tubes, filled with sweet clam meat.)
My go-to favorite in southern Spain...Gazpacho--Vibrant garlicky tomato; savory and refreshing!
My go-to favorite in southern Spain…Gazpacho–Vibrant garlicky tomato; savory and refreshing!
Another food epiphany on this trip: Angulo- baby tender eel, here prepared with a creamy garlic sauce atop toast. I could eat these all day...
Another food epiphany on this trip: Angulo- baby tender eel, here prepared with a creamy garlic sauce atop toast. I could eat these all day…
A familiar dish I have had, simple and delicious-- pan-fried/roasted peppers, just seasoned with salt.
A familiar dish I have had, simple and delicious– pan-fried/roasted peppers, just seasoned with salt.
A happy spread in the Mercado de San Miguel
A happy spread in the Mercado de San Miguel
Creamy crab with caviar
Creamy crab with caviar
Oh Angulo, how I love thee garlicky creamy light briney/seafood flavor--so addicting!
Oh Angulo, how I love thee garlicky creamy light briney/seafood flavor–so addicting!
Aaaand...another gazpacho :D
Aaaand…another gazpacho 😀

 

 

6 thoughts on “Madrid, Spain – Short on Time? Go to the Mercado de San Miguel!”

    1. Hi Karen! Thank you for checking in- I hope all is well with you too! I can’t believe how fast the year has gone by- haven’t had a chance yet to post, but your note has inspired me to get to it! 😉 Looking forward to catching up on your posts as well!

Leave a Reply

