Sol Del Sur Bistro – San Juan Capistrano, California

I’ve been coming to this restaurant as a central meet-up with my dear friend Dmoo who lives in Irvine, for a couple of years now.  I’m not quite sure how we found it–but just that we would always try and find some restaurant that offered a unique menu vs. the typical run of the mill stuff–and of course within reasonable prices (8-10+ for small plates, teens to mid-20s for generous portioned entrees).  In fact the more unfamiliar and exotic sounding menu items, the better!

It is a very cute little place, located in the Marbella Shopping plaza–a quiet residential strip mall actually–conveniently located a minute off the freeway.  The decor is warm (I suppose you can’t get too much warmer than orange walls–but in a good way!) and casual.  I’m not sure if its because we always meet up on “off days” such as Tuesdays, or Wednesdays or even Mondays–but it seems to be always run by the chef/owner/waiter himself!  He does a great job at all posts, truly a one-man show.  In fact, I don’t think I know of any other mom and pop (pop only in this case hehe) that is so rustically run–which! makes me feel good about being able to write such a good review about his place (I figure these smaller businesses need all the help they can get in this economy).

I always am excited about trying new and interesting combos of ingredients–and even though perhaps some combinations may not be something I find myself craving later on (usually only comfort-type foods do that for me), I certainly appreciate the novel experience of expanding one’s taste buds.  Heh which is why I enjoy trying different foods–well just plain food in general–it is something that you must without fail consume to survive. Thus, might as well make the most of it and enjoy it!

Overall, I’d give it about 5 out of 5 fuzziepotatoes – for a casual, intimate and adventerous dining experience.

So! On that note, here was our dinner tonight:  And I gotta say, the most funky intriguing thing was the dark chocolate covered blue cheese ice cream—delicious (but you have to love blue cheese).  It was creamy sweet with the classic pungency of blue cheese but mellowed by the icey coolness, and went surprisingly well with the dark chocolate shell.

One thought on “Sol Del Sur Bistro – San Juan Capistrano, California”

  1. Interesting dishes – like the dragon fruit salad…you don’t see that served around much. Thanks for blogging my dear lizzo!

Leave a Reply

